New Wisconsin legislative maps puts Waupun in districts represented by Mark Born, John Jagler

— Waupun Pioneer News is brought to you by Homan Auto Group. Article continues below. —

WAUPUN — The City of Waupun and the surrounding areas are in new legislative districts, after the State of Wisconsin redrew the maps earlier this year.

The new districts put the City of Waupun in the district of Assemblyman Mark Born (R-Beaver Dam) and the district of State Senator John Jagler (R-Watertown).

Mark Born currently represents the 39th Assembly District, but is running to represent the 37th District in the new maps, which includes the cities of Beaver Dam, Fox Lake, Mayville, Oakfield, and Waupun, and the townships of Chester, Trenton, and Waupun. Born faces primary challenger Steve Rydzewski, and Democrat challenger LaToya Bates.

Born had announced his run for reelection back in April and on May 30 held a meet-and-greet event at Real Sportscards-Wisconsin in downtown Waupun. The event was notably attended by City Administrator Kathy Schlieve and Waupun township supervisor Jon Venhuizen.

The township of Alto will be in the new 39th District, which is with Green Lake, Markesan, and Ripon. Representative Alex Dallman (R-Green Lake) announced his intent to run in the 39th District, and faces Democrat Chris Gordon. Dallman’s previous district was the 41st and at the time covered the north halves of Green Lake and Marquette Counties and the south half of Adams County.

In the State Senate, the region will be represented by John Jagler of the 13th Senate District—which includes all of Waupun and the surrounding townships. Jalger is up for reelection in 2027. The new 13th Senate District includes Jefferson in the south, Lomira in the east, Berlin in the north, and Westfield in the west.

Prior to the change, the City of Waupun and the township of Waupun were represented by Assemblyman Michael Schraa of the 53rd Assembly District and State Senator Dan Feyen of the 18th Senate District. Alto, Trenton, Chester, and Fox Lake were part of the 42nd District, represented by Assemblyman Jon Plumer (R-Lodi), and the 14th Senate District by State Senator Joan Ballweg (R-Markesan).

Ballweg remains the incumbent to the 14th Senate District, which now covers most of Columbia, Sauk, and Richland Counties. Ballweg will face Democrat Sarah Keyeski in this year’s general election. Plumer did not announce another run for office.

The primaries for the seats up for election will be held Tuesday, August 13, 2024, and the general election on Tuesday, November 5, 2024.

The full maps before and after redistricting can be found in the State Legislature OpenData website here: https://data-ltsb.opendata.arcgis.com/pages/fd0ff01a007b49cd8a1ccdd35283f2ec

Updated 7/9/24 7:34PM: A previous version of this article incorrectly stated that the election was on August 23, which is a Friday. The correct day was Tuesday, August 13.